Don’t Mind The Gap

When I started this blog, I thought of it as an adventure.  Not just for me, but for anyone reading it.  I don’t really plan what I’m going to write about.  As a disabled person, maybe I will write about my struggles with rare disabling conditions.  As an older woman, maybe I will post about something from my past.  As a Christian and a woman of deep faith, I might talk about the things of faith that matter to me.

If you’ve read my previous posts, you will know that my husband and I don’t adhere to the teachings of the church on Earth, as corrupted by man.  For example, Alan and I celebrate the Sabbath on a Saturday (as Jesus did) and we maintain that Jesus died on a Wednesday, to conform with the fact that he was in the tomb for three whole days.

So now I have heard God’s voice in my heart.  I believe he wants me to share something else.  It is something I found out, by chance (or design) some time ago, and it answered some questions which had always puzzled me, about the creation story, told in Genesis.

The first puzzling thing, is something that puzzles many people.  The Bible only goes back a few thousand years, yet the Earth is supposed to be millions of years old.  Science proves this, but whenever I have questioned this in the past, I have received one of two replies.  The first reply states that, yes, the Earth is very old, so the six days of creation are not to be taken literally.  They always quote the “a thousand years is but a day to God”, idea, and say that the writer just simplified things for the reader.

The second reply I always got is that the Bible speaks the absolute truth, and that God took just six days to make the Earth.  They maintain that it’s the science which is wrong.  Some people even go so far as to suggest that if dinosaurs roamed the Earth, they were here at the same time as man, which goes against everything in the fossil record.

So which answer is right?  Well, The Bible does speak the truth, but neither of those answers explains what actually happened.

Another thing which always puzzled me about the story, is the appearance of Satan.  When he appears to Eve in Genesis, Chapter 3, he is already a bad guy, yet in Isaiah 14: 12-20, we read that he was in Heaven, but he wanted to become higher than God, so God cast him out of Heaven, but if the universe, and the Earth itself, were still brand new, at that point, when did that happen?  It makes no sense.

One day I was reading something in a pamphlet, just flicking through, and something caught my eye.  I began to read, and have you ever experienced a feeling when, you find something out, and a light comes on in your head?  It illuminates your thoughts and joins them together , and suddenly everything makes sense?

I had such an experience.

So here is what I found out.  Yes, the Earth is millions of years old.  Verse 1 of Genesis states that God created the heavens and the Earth.

Yet, verse 2 goes on to say that the Earth was formless and empty.  Darkness was over the surface of the deep and God was hovering over the waters.

Christians are always taught that those two verses run concurrently, but if they do they make no sense.  If God created the Earth, as it clearly states, in verse 1, then why is it not a viable planet in verse 2?  Why is it without form or void (as some versions of The Bible State)?

The answer is simple.  The verses do not run concurrently, they are millions of years apart.  There is a gap of an indeterminable size between the two verses.  The Hebrew word for “was”, is the same as for, “became”, so if the Earth “became” without form or void, that indicates that the Earth was there, perfectly fine, supporting dinosaurs and other living things, until something terrible happened which destroyed it again.

Basically, what God did, during the six days, was repair a broken planet and get it ready to receive life again.  So when the Bible says that God took six days to make the Earth, it is true.  The Earth as we know it was completed, and all living things were in place, within six days.

So what of Satan?  It’s quite simple really.  The war between Satan and his followers, and God and his angels, was a cataclysmic event.  It is the event which destroyed The Earth between the first two verses, and left it without form or void..

Some people say that this theory, which is known as, ‘The Gap Theory’, or ‘Ruin-Restoration-Creationism’, isn’t true,because if it was, it would have been mentioned in The Bible.  But very often, The Bible leaves out details of a story, such as the childhoods of Jesus and Moses.  We don’t know why some things are included and others aren’t.  The other argument against it says that sin entered the world with the fall of Adam and Eve, but if the earth was already there, sin would have entered with the fall of Satan.  But I suggest that, as Satan is a spirit being, he doesn’t count as a physical person.  I also think that when God re-made the Earth, he chose to give it a completely fresh start.  He hoped mankind would not be tempted by Satan.  When mankind did become corrupt, he considered destroying The Earth again with a flood, but in the end, he left a few survivors to begin again.  This proves to me that God did want our planet to exist and thrive.  He knows we are not perfect, but he did have a plan in mind for our salvation.  His own son Jesus.

So I hope you have found this post interesting.  Here is something for you to look at, about what I have touched upon in this post.  Until next time, may God bless you all.  Love from Mari

http://www.divinerevelations.info/gap/

 

 

Leave a Reply

